Finding the Quiet

The world is loud right now.  There’s fear and concern and change and worry.  There are people whining, people complaining, people protesting, people fighting.  There’s noise in our ears, in our eyes, at our finger tips.  Music, shouting, colors, signs, words, pictures, videos…loud.  Everywhere.

There is also quiet.

Granted, it’s harder to come by, but it’s there.  Maybe its in the moments before you get our of bed or while you wash the shampoo from your hair.  Maybe your quiet is in the seconds you’re on the side of the road waiting for an emergency vehicle to pass.  Maybe the breath that you inhale after hearing “Mom” for the fiftieth time in a day allows you time for a quiet exhale before you answer.

It’s there.

Perhaps you can be more intentional about finding calm, if it seems non-existent.  When I take a yoga class the instructor always comments about how we’ve taken this time out of our busy days to care of ourselves.  She’s right.  And it’s so good.  I also, occasionally, will turn off the radio when I’m in the car on my own.  I tried it once with the kids and there was even more noise than with the music!  And, don’t forget, to mute the noise that comes at us visually by closing your eyes every so often, maybe while you’re waiting in line at the grocery store or stirring dinner in the pot.  It need not be for a long time, but a few peaceful breaths can help focus and center and lead to contentment or renewed energy.

It’s there.

And maybe silence finds you.  Perhaps you find yourself without power for a few hours.  Maybe you get sick and sleep away a few days.  Or maybe you’re like me and find meaning everywhere.  Like when you’re helping someone and they say “thank you” in such a way that you know what you did for them meant more to them than you realized.  Like when your child calls you out for doing something you’ve taught them not to do and renders you speechless.  Like when you’re walking to your car, head down, grumbling about this or that, and the breeze catches you and you feel your Grandmother’s love carried on it.

It’s there.

I don’t have the answers.  I don’t even realize the extent of all the problems.  I do know, though, that minute slivers of peace can let in light and warmth that didn’t seem so close before.  I do know that I feel a spiritual connection that swells in moments of solitude.  I do know that creative solutions to many struggles can be seen in silence.  And I do know that rest is good for us.  It’s important to our mental, physical, and emotional health.

Find your moments of quiet.  Embrace them.  Amplify them.  Encourage them.

Then open your eyes, sit up, get up, stand up…and see what you see.  Maybe some new realization will be there.  Maybe some new hope.  Maybe more love.  Maybe more opportunities for quiet.

quiet

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Deep Breaths, Just Because and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finding the Quiet

  1. Jody Nagle says:

    Doug’s Uncle John passed away o.k. Monday. Tomorrow is the memorial service and Friday is the burial. A few moments of silence are sorely needed right now. Thank you for reminding us of that.

    Like

  2. Joy Lê says:

    so true, love your posts

    Like

Leave a Reply

