Kids say….

…the darnedest things.  Truly.

Yesterday I worked my first shift at my new job.  It comes with a cute little polo shirt for a uniform.  And I had black dress slacks on.  I walked into the living room and Tyler, who’s eight, said, “Aw, look at you…growing up so quickly.”

Jace, our almost-teen, said, “She’s 37!”

Tyler shushed him right up.  “Shhh, Jace.  The adults are talking.”

The look on Jace’s face was priceless!


We also had another conversation about Stacy’s Mom.  While watching a sitcom, Jace commented that he could see himself being like the husband in the show.  Gracie started going through options for his wife.  Jace piped up with, “Maybe I can marry Stacy’s mom!  I wonder what her name is.”


Oh, and another recent conversation about Stay’s Mom.  It started about talking about the collective use of the word “we.”

Jace pointed out how Tyler says turquoise without pronouncing the “s” at the end.  And he commented, “He can’t talk!”

Gracie remarked, “But we still love him.”

Jace said, “You must be talking about you and Mama.  I love how people throw around the word we.  You know who does it all the time?  Preschool teachers!”

Gracie added, “Yeah!  And they say ‘friends’ all the time too.  Like, ‘Hello, friends!’ ”

Jace said, “Yeah, that lady at the homeschool field day did that too.  I don’t know her name but she’s Katie’s mom.”

Tyler piped in, 2000px-1-8_note_quaver_(music).svg 2000px-Simple_Music.svgKatie’s mom has got it going on…2000px-1-8_note_quaver_(music).svg 2000px-Simple_Music.svg

And then we all yelled, “NO!”

Tyler:  “What?  It could be a song too.”

Me:  “Nope.  No it can’t.

Jace:  “So young.  So innocent.”


Everybody sigh with me…le sigh.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Kids Quips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

