Cart Voyeur

I admit that I like to see what’s in other people’s carts at the grocery store.  I’m not as interested at department stores, but every now and then something will catch my eye.  At the grocery store, though, I’m completely curious.

I first admitted my tendency to peak into your buggy (did you know that’s what carts are called in some parts of the country?) in a post about pork loin or popcorn.  After writing that, though, I realized exactly how intrigued I am by what people buy.  It’s fascinating to me!  I want to know the backstory or their plans for what they’ve grabbed.  I’m curious about how often families who have overflowing carts shop.  I’m curious to know if people who argue about which bacon to get continue arguing in the car on the way home or remember the spat while frying it up for Sunday’s breakfast.  I’m just so interested….

What about you?  Do you want to hang out with the guy who’s got peanut butter pretzels under one arm and tequila under the other?  Do you take guess at what thing in someone’s cart was an impulse buy?  Or maybe it’s just me…

Today I was at Costco again.  Big warehouse stores are great for people watching and cart viewing.  Right now they have all these huge hanging plants.  I don’t know how many people I saw with carts adorned with baskets on the sides or hanging from the handle.  People were trying to reach over them to put things into their carts.  I giggled a little.  I must have missed the garbage can with a sensor, though.  When I got up to the register, though, I noticed four of them in different carts around me!  Must be a cool little gadget of a trash can!

And…I found out I’m not alone in checking out other people’s groceries.  The woman behind me commented to me, “I was feeling pretty bad about my cart when you’ve got all this – fruits and veggies.  Then I saw the caramel corn in the front.  (laughs)  Now I feel better.”

Mind you, her cart wasn’t piled high with sugar – or plants for that matter – but I’m glad our caramel corn habit put her at ease!  And that I’m not the only cart voyeur!

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

