Too Many

***trigger warning***
This post contains general talk about sexual assault.  Please practice good self-care and skip it if you need to.
********

It’s been about six months since I shared the story of my rape and how I recovered from that on this blog.  Since then I’ve heard from so many people about their own assaults. 

rape

incest

molestation

attempts

weapons

domestic violence

uncles

coaches

friends

brothers

mothers

men

women

children

Too many.

Look around at the people you know – that you work out with, share an office with, live with, and play cards with.  I know the statistics*.  I still have a hard, hard time swallowing the reality.

1 in 6 women has been the victim or attempted or completed rape

1 in 33 men has been the victim of attempted or completed rape

15% of sexual assault and rape victims are under age 12

44% of sexual assault and rape victims are under age 18

Look around.

I’ll tell you the tally of my friends who’ve shared with me in the last six months – 1 man who was raped by another male around age 18, 1 man who was molested repeatedly by his mother during childhood, 1 child who was touched by a neighbor, 1 woman who was raped by her step father as a child, 1 woman who was raped by her husband, 1 woman who fought off another woman in college, 1 woman who was raped and threatened with a weapon, 1 woman who was raped by her uncle, 1 woman who was raped by her cousin, 1 woman who was molested by her boss, father, brother, and grandfather (I’ll be sharing her story later this month).

Too many.

I hold all these stories in my heart.  I hold all these women and men and children in my thoughts and prayers.  And I ask you to open your heart and arms to embrace those around you looking for a soft place to land when they tell their stories.

We don’t need to be fixed – we just want to be believed and supported, told we’re still cared about, reminded that it wasn’t our fault.

Hold the many in your hearts too.

sexual assault awareness

The National Sexual Assault 24/7, free hotline number is 1-800-656-HOPE (4673).

*Statistics from RAINN.

 

 

 

 

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Deep Breaths and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

