Spring Cleaning

Most of you have heard of the concept of spring cleaning.  As a reminder, though, it’s the idea of cleaning our homes from top to bottom, getting rid of the dust and stuff that accumulate throughout the rest of the year.  We deep clean couch cushions.  We pull out the fridge and oven to wipe down everything that’s dripped down their sides.  We open the windows and let the cool, fresh air breeze through our houses, taking away the still air that we might not have even noticed was there.

Spring cleaning can help us feel less burdened by excess.  It might also make it easier to see areas that could use extra attention, maybe new coats of paint or extra polishing.  And we might even find ourselves feeling refreshed and content from our accomplishments.  Sounds good, right?  So what if we spring cleaned our selves too?

Yup, you read that right.  What if we looked at our lives, both outwardly and inwardly, and dusted, scrubbed, and aired them out?  Would you find a relationship collecting dust in some corner and remark, “Oh, I’d forgotten I had that”?  Or could you stand to get rid of some hurt feelings to have a better view of the joys you have in the rest of your life?  Maybe you’d realize that you’re holding onto clothes that don’t fit or don’t make you feel good about yourself and letting them go might be a step toward loving who you are right now.

I don’t know if any of this is true, but it’s just some thoughts that came to mind a few days ago, and it sounds like it might be a worthwhile idea!

I was talking with a friend, an entrepreneur, about questioning, wondering about giving up.  I’ve been wrestling with that some too.  I love writing and telling stories.  She loves what she’s doing too.  But we both wonder, from time to time, if the energy we put into these passions we have is worth what we get out of it.  I think it’s worth thinking about sometimes.  If we just continue on without consideration, then we may be missing other opportunities or chances to use our talents and skills.  If we trudge forward without looking from side to side, we might miss beautiful scenery, easier paths to walk, and maybe even the right course for us.  So, stop and look around from time to time.  Pause and consult your mentors and friends.

In fact, I think that consideration and contemplation might be worthwhile for many areas of life.  For me, I revisit decisions about homeschooling, involvement in activities (both mine and the kids’), working, and more on a fairly regular basis.  Spring might be the perfect time to take an even more in depth look at these areas.  What’s working?  What’s not?  Where do I need to scrub or let the breeze in?  Have I packed our schedules too tightly and there’s no space to appreciate any of what we’re doing because we’re always doing?  Could I get a traditional job?  Should I get paid more for my untraditional job?  What do I get from all the volunteer hours?  Is that enough?  Where can I step up?  Where can I step down?

Really get into all of it.  Deep clean.

And emotionally.  I have talked about how I live an emotional life.  How can I best care for that part of me?  For me?  Well, maybe there’s a specific yoga class I could take that would lead to some deeper insight.  Maybe the women’s study I’m doing is opening my eyes and my heart.  Even more.  Maybe days of soaking up sunshine and hiking will clear out old stresses and make room for new joys!

Maybe my spring cleaning ideas will help you let go of grudges or pain.  Maybe they’ll spur ideas of your own about how to balance work and play.  Or maybe you’ll realize that you already care for your being completely and you can sit and share a little smile with yourself.  Keep it up, if that’s the case!  If not, throw open the drapes and get out the sponges and scrub brushes.  We’ve got some work to do.

 

 

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Deep Breaths and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

