All the Feels

I feel deeply and strongly.  I love completely.  I embrace my emotions and consider them part of my strength.  I help often and smile more often.  I hug warmly.  I give.

My emotions are a big part of who I am.  They might not even be a part, they might be me.  Maybe after I pass away and my body is donated to science, those college students will find nothing but emotions, feelings…and a few rainbows.  Or maybe they’ll find the normal organs and muscles.  Either way, I love me and all my feels.  If they aren’t literally who I physically am, those emotions are me in every other possible way.

As is often the case, though, feelings aren’t always received well by others. Well, it’s not so much that feelings aren’t well received, but crying isn’t.  Thankfully my husband figured out a long time ago that my crying didn’t mean he needed to fix something.  Sometimes I cry just because I love him so much.  Sometimes it’s from being too tired or overwhelmed or happy.  Nothing for him to do, except maybe tuck me in.  So, he’s figured this out a little.  Others?  Not so much.

Tears can be seen as alarming or a sign of weakness.  My shows of emotion have made people uncomfortable or disgusted, at times.  So, I’d like to stand up and say to everyone –

“It’s okay that I feel things.  Furthermore, it’s okay that I express my emotions openly and honestly.  It’s okay that I try to understand what I’m feeling and why.  It’s okay that commercials or songs sometimes bring me to tears.  It’s okay that I empathize and sympathize with others.  All of that, and all of me, is okay.”

And you know what else?  I do more than cry!  I hinted toward it in the first paragraph.  I smile too!  That usually doesn’t unnerve people as much as crying does, but it’s another common reaction to all those feelings inside me.

I also laugh, sigh (often), growl, curse, hug, scowl, and more.  All of these may give you cues to what’s going on inside, what feelings are bubbling to the forefront at any given moment.  None of them are necessarily a reason to scurry away and hide or to jump protectively in front of me with your fists up.

I appreciate being taken care of, but as I’ve already said, having emotions, being able to recognize and express emotions – that’s all part of my strength.  Maybe it’s part of yours too.  Or someone you know.

So, what do I want?  I want you to say, “Okay.”  You can ask if I need anything or simply offer up a hug.  You can laugh with me, if you want.  You can be like the guy at the gas pumps the other day.  I sighed and rolled my head around to stretch my neck.  He said, “I agree.”  Who doesn’t love someone who understands what they’re feeling?  Don’t get freaked out by wet eyes or growling in public.  Just appreciate that all those feels have a place to reside!

I just want feelings to stop being looked at as weaknesses.  Having them is fulfilling.  It’s refreshing to have insight into what’s happening in our emotional worlds.  This knowledge helps us better navigate our worlds.  And those of us who emote in this no-holds-barred way are fun to have around!  We’re like sunshine and rain…all at the same time.  Shimmering and invigorating.  That’s what having all the feels is like.  Except when it’s like a sudden down pour.  Then just put me to bed.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Deep Breaths and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All the Feels

  1. Maria says:

    I truly felt the connection. Although it fit me to a T, it reminded me how much my special friends could relate also if only they could read this too!….TY!…..

    Like

  2. Pingback: Spring Cleaning | Sips of Stillness

Leave a Reply

