Car Conversation, Three

It’s been a while since I’ve filled you in on all that comes out of our mouths during our many hours on the road.  I know you’ve been eager to read some more along the lines of our poop portal or four level house alarm conversations.  Well, today is your lucky day!

Tyler:  If I had a million dollars I’d have a pretty sort list of things to buy.

Gracie:  Do you even know how much a million dollars is?

Tyler:  Yes.  It’s one thousand one thousand dollars.  Right Mama?

Mama (deer in headlight look that no one can see because I’m driving and they’re in the back seat, thinks quick, like a teacher): Well, do you know what happens when you multiply by 10?

Tyler: Yes, you add a zero

Mama: Technically you move the decimal place one to the right.

Tyler:  Or add a zero. (probably rolls eyes)

Mama:  And do you know what happens when you multiply by 100?

Tyler:  No.

Gracie:  You add two zeros…or technically move your decimal place two spaces to the right. (proud grin)

Mama:  So, what happens when you multiply by 1,000?

Gracie:  You’ll add three zeros.

Mama:  Yup.  So, 1,000 x 10 is?

Gracie and Tyler:  10,000

Mama:  And 1,000 x 100 is?

Gracie and Tyler:  100,000

Mama (relieved that we’ve figured this all out together):  And 1,000 times…

Tyler (impatiently interrupting): Yeah, yeah, yeah…1,000 x 1,000 is 1,000,000 – like I said.  And if I had a million dollars I’d buy Nerf Guns and a mansion with a place just to have Nerf wars!

Gracie:  Well, depending on where you live, mansions sometimes cost more than $1,000,000.  You might need a billion dollars to get what’s on your list.

Tyler:  Well, I’d get a small mansion for a million.  But if I had a billion dollars, I could make a longer list.  Nerf guns, a mansion, Legos, paint ball guns, Legos, a Bugatti…

Gracie:  You can’t drive!

Tyler:  I know that, but I’d still get a Bugatti – and a driver – and more Legos, more Nerf guns, more paintball guns, a cheesecake, and a private jet.  And I’d put $10,000 in savings for later.

And there you have it – teaching them to dream big and save for their futures.  I’m chalking today up as a win!

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Kids Quips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Car Conversation, Three

  1. Good that he’s thinking of savings! After the Nerf guns and mansions and sports cars.. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Car Conversation, Four | Sips of Stillness

Leave a Reply

