Girls Are Weird

Today my daughter and I went bra shopping.  It’s not the first time, but every time it’s…a process.  It doesn’t matter if it’s for a bra for her or a bra for me…it’s a process.  The good thing was, it gave us time to chat.

In the car on the way to the store she said how her brother is always saying how rough it is being a guy.  He’s twelve.  I don’t know what he thinks is so rough…but something.   Anyway, I told her the proper response any time he says that is, “Pfft.”

Dwight_pfft

Exactly.

Then we started chatting about hormones.  We decided they’re like Gremlins.  Most of the times my hormones are cute and cuddly but occasionally they get wet and the conversation goes like this:

“I can’t tell you what I need!  I don’t know how to make it better!  I don’t even know why I’m crying!”

Gracie thought that was funny.

“It’s true, Gracie.  The hardest part about being a guy is trying to figure out women when we can’t even figure ourselves out.  Like last night.  Dada and I are all snuggled in bed and I was thinking about how much I love him and I started to cry!  I told him, ‘I apparently love you so much I’m crying about it.  I really do love you!’  He replied, ‘O….K….I love you too, but I’m not going to cry about it or anything.  Ok?'”

Gracie laughed some more and asked if I’d fed my hormones after midnight!  Smart girl, that lass is.  (Not sure why I called her a lass, but it’s kind of fitting…so we’ll go with it.)

Anyway, we found Gracie a bra – it was even on clearance.  I sat in front of the fire at the Y for a bit, that was lovely.  And soon it’ll be time to rest our weary female brains, bodies, and fuzzy, cuddly, monster hormones for another night.  Girls are weird…and twelve-year-old boys don’t even realize how much so yet!

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because, Kids Quips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

