Tales From the Y

If you didn’t already know, we’re a Y family.  There’s a commercial with a little jingle about being a “Y family,” and when I first heard it I thought, “How silly!”  Now I hum along.  It didn’t take me long to realize I was either going to waste energy on constantly fighting the truth or I was going to embrace what we’ve become.  We’re a Y family.

So, anyway, as a Y family, we’re here often.  I write at my computer, sitting in the cafe, a few times a week.  More than once, a worker has stopped by to say hello and caught me playing Candy Crush or scrolling through Facebook.  I’ve pinned posts to Pinterest, written grocery lists, and conducted business between classes.  I’ve cried here more times than I’d like to admit.  To be fair, I cry everywhere – I’m a feeler.  It feels like home, except they still don’t have a couch for me to nap on.  But I’m not giving up on that.

Today, a few staffers have come by to say hi.  One wanted to know if I knew about the annual campaign that raises money for the YMCA.  I do – the funds raised go to help families who couldn’t afford to be here otherwise.  And I think it’s a great cause.  Just like the other two causes I’m already giving time, energy, and money to during the month of March.  So, I don’t think I’ll be organizing any teams of fundraisers or going all out to raise more money, but it is a truly wonderful cause…so if you want to donate or fundraise – be my guest!

If you’re interested in giving to either of the other two programs I’m helping with next month (and you don’t have to wait until next month to give) here’s a bit more about them:

Silver and Gold Auction – The money raised is used for scholarships that are awarded to children of submarine sailors.  Since we have three of those children, this is definitely a worthy cause!

Meals on Wheels Kitsap – I remember my mom volunteering for Meals on Wheels when I was a kid.  It’s a wonderfully important resource for folks in our communities and I’m delighted to be helping our local group raise money and awareness for their program.

Second, someone came by the table to let me know that Tyler is a funny kid!  Their conversation went something like this…

Tyler: Can we play air hockey?
Staff: Sorry, the puck is literally stuck inside the table.
Tyler: Do you have an ax?
Staff: No.  And we can’t just chop the table in half.
Tyler: Oh.

He is a funny kid, alright.

Lastly, a third staffer stopped by to let me know he thought I should listen to Billy Talent, if I didn’t already.  I hadn’t heard of him until just then, but now I have.  I listened to one song while sitting here.  He’s kinda fun.  Very interesting videos!  Is he on your play list?

So, between those conversations, the woman who sat down at the table with me (which is fine, I’m happy to share) and talked to me at length about her son two sons – one of whom is a “United States sailor” and the other “who probably won’t be very productive in life, but has always had love” (I must look like I care…and the problem is, I probably do), and the call from the tax preparer – I typed this up for you!

You’re welcome!

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tales From the Y

  1. Joy Le says:

    I love you

    Like

Leave a Reply

