It’s That Time

Every month this week surprises me, even when I think I’m ready for it.  And, no, I’m not talking about that week.  I might touch on that in another post, but this one isn’t regarding women specifically.  I’m simply talking about the second week of the month.

Every month, like clockwork, the second week comes along and completely exhausts me.  I have extra meetings, extra socializing, lots to do, and lots to give of myself.  Le sigh.

So, as we near the end of this second week of the month, please accept my sincere apologies for not writing much.  Well, technically I wrote a lot, but didn’t complete anything worth posting.  You see, in this second week of the month I usually find that I’ve put my underwear on inside out at least once, forgotten to eat a few meals, and can’t fully form sentences without being distracted by the thoughts in my head that are going off on tangents of their own.  Squirrel!

Speaking of squirrels, did you know that January 21st is National Squirrel Appreciation Day?  I didn’t until that pearl of knowledge showed up on Facebook earlier today.  Now I know.  I think we’ll make squirrel food to hang.  Or just watch them out the window.  Or I’ll have forgotten about it my next week.

That’s the kind of thing I’m dealing with here…see?  But whilst dealing with my inability to focus, I’ve started posts on marketing yourself, not spreading yourself too thin (yes, I do see the humor in this), unsolicited and unhelpful comments from strangers, defining self care, and finding breathing room in your life.  A couple of these actually have real potential, but they won’t be up on the blog today…maybe in the 3rd or 4th week of the month.  Not the second.

Other things that also won’t be accomplished this week…writing the menu or schedule on the wall boards put up for that purpose, Christmas ornaments getting put away, lesson planning for the civics lesson I’d like the kids to learn, healthy eating, sleeping in.  And it’s all okay.  It really is.

I’m still surprised by exactly how exhausting this week is for me, but I am doing better to care for myself during it.  I may not have checked off half the to-do list, but I did get a massage.  I did start some new writing projects that excite me.  I talked to my parents, got a hair cut, worked out, and got new sneakers.  All-in-all, it’s been a good, if not tiring, week.

The take away from all of this – I still have some prep work I can try to get done in anticipation of this exhausting week that comes along every month, but at the end of the week, I can still smile…and sleep in on Saturday.

I know that some of you have exhausting weeks every week.  I would do it if I had to – there wouldn’t be another choice – but I’m glad I don’t have to.  This one week wears me out.  If you’re worn out, week after week, maybe when I get some of those other posts done, you’ll find a nugget or two helpfulness in them.  In the meantime, take care of you.  Pull up a seat, grab a beverage, and enjoy recharging your batteries – by yourself, with your family, with your friends – whatever and whomever works for you.  But recharge and get ready.  Whether it’s the second week or every week…it’s coming again.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

