Break On Me

I heard Keith Urban’s new song, “Break On Me,” for the first time yesterday.  It was one of those songs that could have used my full attention.  However, I was driving with the kids in the car and pulling over would have caused them to ask questions.  By the time I answered those and shushed the kids, the song would have been over.  So, instead of doing that, I nonchalantly turned it up a notch and teared up a little while continuing on down the road.

Perhaps a little insight into my life would help you see why this might be my favorite new song.  I am a strong, confident, emotional woman.  I’m a mother, sister, wife, friend.  I mentor, guide, teach, inspire.  I write, swim, laugh, and love.  And on occasion I feel overwhelmed.  When I feel like life is too big for me to handle, I lean on those around me.  That’s what this little tune is saying.

“Where dreams become walls
And you just need a break
Break on me”

Recently I was cuddled up behind my husband, confessing some irrational frustration that was weighing on me.  I knew it was silly.  I also knew if I didn’t get it off my chest, it would grow.  So, I told him my worries and he said I was silly and he loved me anyway.  He’s good like that.

Then I rolled over and he rolled over too, to cuddle and hold me reassuringly.

“Um, were you crying on my pillow?”

“Oh, sorry.  I didn’t realize it would be so wet that you’d notice.”

And he hugged me tight and gave me extra kisses.  He’s good like that too.

We all need that soft place to fall, whether it’s a lover and partner or a dear, close friend.  Sometimes it’s just a great movie and a bubble bath, but we all break sometimes.

“Shatter like glass
Come apart in my hands
Take as long as it takes, girl
Break on me
Put your head on my chest
Let me help you forget
When your heart needs to break
Just break on me”


Listen to “Break On Me.”

 

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Song for That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

