Adulting

I don’t know about you, but adulting is my favorite new noun-turned-verb out there!  It’s fun to say when I don’t want to be doing it.  And today qualifies as one of those days.

It’s the Monday after two holiday weeks in a row.  And last week we spent in the cold, dark wilderness, as my children like to call it.  We went camping with friends and it was, in fact, cold and dark.  Thankfully our thoughtful husbands created a warm and cozy shelter for us to hang out in – playing games, eating, and laughing.  Yay for that.  But now…now, we’re back to reality.  A reality where I have to adult.  Le sigh.

So, what does adulting look like for me today?  Well, I got out of bed.  And that was a tough one right there.  It’s mornings like these that I’m truly grateful for having a non-traditional job and have an extra-special fondness for my husband who gets up to an alarm clock.
11017516_10152662092505737_9161302951185206157_n
I’ve done even more than roll out of bed, though.  I’m still doing laundry from the camping trip.  (We’re down to bedding and camper towels.)  I have the week’s meals planned, have homeschooled, and have reached out to a few potential clients in my growing story-telling, bio-writing business.

That’s a good deal of adulting, if I do say so myself.

I’m not even done.  I’m going to put dinner in the crock pot, go to the library, return Christmas gifts that didn’t fit, and shower (not necessarily in that order)!  Once this to-do list is checked off, it would be chalked up as a win on any day of the week, but especially today!

Yay me!

I hope your post-holiday Monday is a successful adventure in adulting, too.  And if not, there’s always tomorrow.  Happy New Year!

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adulting

  1. Athena Ryno says:

    Thanks Annie. I’d love to follow storytelling on your blog. You’re always interesting and fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

