Seasons Change

It’s that week between Christmas and New Year’s Eve.  It’s a moment to breathe deeply and let go of stresses from the previous month or two or three.  It’s a time to look forward and marvel over what might be in the upcoming month or two or three.

For some of you, though, you might see it as an opportunity to beat yourself up, to confirm in your mind that you’re not good enough.  You might see commercial after commercial about how to feel your best, lose those pounds, get an education, have better sex, be a better parent, or whatever.  You might start thinking that you need to make a resolution or two to better yourself.  I’m here to tell you – you don’t.

Well, you can if you want.  Some people like resolutions.  But, for me, I’ve found that New Year’s Eve is rarely the time I am ready to make positive goals for my life.  And that’s what helps – positive goals, when you’re ready for them, not because you don’t think you’re enough. 

I’ve said it before (here and here and here, too) and I’ll say it again. 

YOU ARE ENOUGH!

You don’t need to change because a commercial says you should be weigh less to live your optimal life.  You don’t need to get an education because your boyfriend says so.  Only make positive goals for your life because you are wanting and ready for change.  In the meantime…

Love yourself now and through the New Year.  Enjoy gathering with friends, if that’s what you do.  Enjoy a quiet night with ice cream and movies, if that’s what you do.  Know that you can be what and who you want to be, and that includes someone who is content with themselves. 

Reflect on the lessons you’ve learned, the relationships you tended to, and the person you’ve become in the last year.  Dream, plan, and wonder about what lies ahead of you this next year.  Let this be a time of peace and modest joys.  Let this be a time where you simply are.  Present to your friends and family.  Patient with your flaws.  Proud of your accomplishments.  It may very well be a time for you to engage in goal setting, but only if you can confidently and comfortably do so.  If not there will be a time for that.

Our lives have seasons, like the world we live in.  There’s a clear rhythm to the changing weather, from the buds we see in spring to the lush colors of summer to the falling leaves of autumn.  And now we find ourselves in winter, when the earth is quiet but the winds may blow cold and strong.  Plants and animals hide away and wait for spring to come again. 

What season of your life are you in?  It might be interesting to think about.  This year I’m not fighting the winter.  I still don’t love the cold and think the snow is pretty to look at, but have no desire to play in it.  Even though I’m not embracing all of winter, I’m accepting the quiet, pensive nature of it.  I’m not trying to force change that will come in it’s time. 

I am enough right here and right now.  I don’t need to weigh fewer pounds, earn more money, check off every box on my life goals list today!  I can simply be.  Because I have a lot to offer.  I am not only enough, but a lot.  And changes will come to my life, and yours, when it’s time.  In their season.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Deep Breaths and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

