Grandma Gebel Cookies

While my now-husband and I dated, I got to spend a lot of time with his grandmother at weekly Sunday dinners.  By that time, she had lost her husband and lived alone in the home they’d raised their six children in.  Everyone else had heard her stories more than a few times, but they were new to me.  So we’d sit around the kitchen table and eat cookies and talk.  Sometimes we’d end up alone, everyone else having made their way to the living room or outside, while Grandma and I shared laughs and meaningful squeezes of each other’s hands.  It was during one of these conversations, that I asked if she’d share her cookie recipe.

You see, the Gebel family has a special place in their heart for cookies (and all food, really).  I’ve never been to Grandma’s without there being cookies in the cookie jar.  Normally there were a couple kinds to enjoy, but one that was always there were the ones I’ve always known only as Grandma Gebel cookies. 

While she told me the recipe and I wrote it down, she also shared how she always had these cookies on hand for her husband.  He started every morning with two.  And, if she came in from evening chores and the jar was on the counter, instead of in its normal home in the cupboard, she knew a fresh batch had to be whipped up before the morning!  Love has many ways of showing itself. 

I’m honored to have had those conversations with Grandma, where I heard stories to pass on and received sage advice.  I’m grateful that I got to share meals, laughs, and a few tears with this incredible woman.  And I’m happy to be sharing a little of that with you. 

IMG_4098Grandma Gebel Cookies

2 eggs

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 ¼ cup brown sugar

1 ½ cups peanut butter

Cream all together.

 

IMG_41012 ½ cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp vanilla

Add to creamed mixture. Mix until combined.  Add chocolate chips, about a bag, give or take.  Bake for 14 minutes at 350° F.

I hope that you’ve made some memories with your grandparents that leave you fondly remembering conversations, moments, and family traditions.  If you haven’t, go make plans…maybe to make some of our family’s cookies.  And if your grandparents have passed, like most of ours have now, connect with aunts and uncles to hear those old stories again.  Call a friend, bake with your kids, it doesn’t have to be any one person in particular – just connect and feel the magic of shared memories.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Recipe Memoirs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

