Dear Parking Lot Patrons

Dear Parking Lot Patrons,

I frequently wonder why there aren’t more accidents in parking lots.  It seems that, even more so than in the stores, parking lots inspire hostility.  Here are a few of the notes I think anyone who may find themselves in parking lots needs to hear:

  1.  The world does not revolve around you.  This is one of those lessons someone tried to teach you as a toddler.  It may have simply slipped your mind, and that happens, but let me now remind you that you are not the most important thing in the world and you’re, in fact, sharing the world with everyone else.
  2. Slow down.  It’s a parking lot!  There’s no straight away.  It’s not ramped on the curves.  There’s absolutely no reason for you to be racing through it.
  3. They put lines there for a reason.  The reason is – that’s where you should park!  My husband carries chalk in his truck for those of you who make your own parking spaces, but really, he shouldn’t need to draw you special lines.  I’m not the world’s greatest parker, but I have backed up and reparked more than once.  In fact, I’ve gotten back in my car and restarted it to move over six inches and be within the lines.  It’s ok to do and makes life much easier for everyone involved.
  4. Pedestrians.  The people that drive and ride in all those cars get out and become walkers.  They have keys they’re trying to stick in their purses, toddlers they’re trying to wrangle, and shopping lists their trying to remember in their heads.  Please be cautious and attentive.  And, if it’s raining, maybe let them cross first to get to their car a smidgen faster…I mean, if you’re feeling extra-generous.

And a note to the pedestrians too – Look up!  Pay attention.  Put your keys in your purse before you get out of your car.  Wait until you’re inside the store to find your list or try to remember what you need.  Let your focus in the lot be on what’s going on around you and any children you might need to encourage not to run into traffic, just in case oncoming traffic didn’t get the memo that the world doesn’t revolve around them.

I do want to comment also, that I know none of us are perfect.  I once got a ticket for my tire touching the line in a parking spot.  And sometimes all of my children take a different between-car route even though I tell them constantly that we’re more visible as a group than as individuals.  So, I get it and I don’t mean to sound preachy.  I just think that sometimes a few reminders can’t hurt.

Thank you for your time,

Annie

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Letters From Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

