I Want To Hold Your Hand

I’m a hugger.  And a rubber and petter and toucher.  I like to cuddle and snuggle.  It’s my love language.  So, you won’t be surprised to hear that The Beatles speak to me when they say, “I want to hold your ha-aa-aand!”

Think about all the different situations and relationships holding hands can be important in.  Consider the many feelings that simple act can represent.  Holding hands may be a humble action, but it’s also a big one too.

In the classic song, The Beatles are talking about love in a couple relationship – or at least what he hopes will be a romantic relationship.  And what a wonderful way to show a certain someone that they are special to you.  From first loves to those who have been together forever, placing your hand in theirs shows what they mean to you.  You can hold their hand at moments when you’d really like to hold the rest of them, but that’s frowned upon in parking lot.  You can hold hands while you stroll in a park or along the beach.   If you don’t currently hold hands with your love, I recommend it.

Holding hands can also show love to your children.  From the time their little, we hold their hands to kiss their little fingers and coo at them.  We hold their hands to keep them safe on sidewalks and in parking lots.  We hold their hands when they’ve had their hearts broken and we’re sitting knee to knee listening to their pain.  If you haven’t held your child’s hands recently, maybe you could.

We hold hands when we’re scared.  We hold hands to give reassurance.  We hold hands to skip or play Ring Around the Rosey.  We give a little squeeze to support.  We give a bone-crushing squeeze when we’re giving birth.  We gently hold the hands of those who are sick or dying.

Look at your hands.  Are they capable, strong, manicured, leathery, grease-stained?  Our hands are personal and reaching out for someone else or accepting the hand they offer – its an intimate gesture.  It’s almost magical, if you think about it.

If you grasp someone’s hand near you – a friend, a lover, anyone you care for – you might find that like John, George, Paul, and Ringo you feel happy inside.  And internal contentment is probably one of the foremost goals of huggers like me.  So, go hold someone’s hand…I mean, if you want to feel good inside, that is.

 

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Song for That and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Want To Hold Your Hand

  1. Bob Ingram says:

    Another good one…All My Loving

    Like

Leave a Reply

