Kidquisitive

Everyone knows about the WHY? stage of childhood, but some kids never grow out of it.  They keep pondering and questioning and wondering.  I always think kids like this will follow their questions into research fields because they just never know enough.  An answer to one question just leads to more questions.  It’s not a bad thing even if it is annoying on occasion.  Mostly, though, it makes me laugh, giggle, chuckle, or wonder why I’ve never thought about that before.

After I’m done being stunned by my not-yet-eight year old (who’s definitely more curious than I am) we find answers that will do for now.  We google them, grab a book from the shelf, experiment with toys, whatever’s called for.  And, in the end, we often learn something – maybe not even about the question asked, maybe simply about each other.

But, that’s enough ‘deep thinking’ for today.  How about a list of questions said child asked all in one day?  I knew you’d love that.  Here you are:

I wonder how much sap I eat each week?
Me: Sap?
Tyler:  Yeah…like syrup.

I wonder how many asteroids have hit the earth?

I wonder how many fire extinguishers we have in the house?  (Starts running around like he himself is on fire and needs to find them all!)

I wonder how long it will have to build all the Lego houses I plan to build?

I wonder how many Fords have run me over?
Jace, Gracie, and me: What?
Tyler repeats the question.
Me: Fords?
Tyler: No, volts.  I wonder how many volts have gone through me?

How do you spell love?

I wonder how many hairs the average man has?

I wonder how many times a year Gracie burps?

Do you want me to tell you a great story about Unikitty?  I’ll use my great story voice.

Do you know why singers keep their eyes closed?
Me: No.
Tyler:  I’ve heard that it helps them sing longer – like “oooooooh.”  Maybe it’s like since only one thing is open they can sing longer.

*****

I’m sure I missed some, but this is a good sampling.  We also think that he might have a future as a prosecutor or something similar.  He’s really good at asking questions out of left field and throwing you off balance!  Or he may just build Legos forever.  His future remains to be seen, but I hope whatever he does he does it with wonderment.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Kids Quips and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

