Praise for Pencils

A friend was telling me how her daughter, who is in Kindergarten, looks forward to ‘Fun Friday’ every week.  The class gets 10 minutes to play a board game and gets to bring their own pencil from home!  (Normally they use plain ol’ yellow No. 2 pencils.)  My dear friend was sharing this story as an example of how silly five year olds can be.  Instead, though, I completely got it.  I would totally look forward to using a special pencil from home! I love pencils!

I’ve been told that I’m easy to entertain.  (That’s what my husband means when he says he married me because I’m easy, in case you weren’t sure.)  It’s true. I really get a kick out of the little things in life.  I find joy in smiles and hugs.  I see images in the clouds.  I imagine tales of wonder for folks wandering down the street.  Think about a cat with a ball of string.  That’s me!

I think perspective is the secret to happiness and I believe there’s something to be in awe of or appreciate in every little thing.  This take on life might be simplistic or juvenile, but I prefer to interpret it as embracing the energy of life.  It’s fun to experience something pleasant whenever possible.  It’s lovely to notice messages of support and love from my grandmothers in the blowing breezes and unexpected memories.  If this take on the world is silly…silly I shall be.

And I really do love pencils!  Grey is a great color to let things be whatever they shall be.  With a pencil you can shade or be precise.  And erase!  Imagine if we could erase in other areas of life…but really that’s joy is left to the pencil users of the world.  So, be excited, baby girl!  Enjoy your board game tomorrow and LOVE using your from-home pencil.  And never lose your wonder.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

