Car Conversation, Two

I promise you that I cannot make this stuff up.

*******

Me (following a slow car and teaching the children the art of whining about how others drive): I wish this car would go the speed limit. I really dislike going slow when I can go fast.

Tyler: You know what would be really cool? If someone invented a portal so we could get to the Y really fast!

Me: Should I put that in their comment box? “You could really use a portal so that we could get to and from the Y more efficiently.”

Tyler (pretty sure he shrugged while saying this, I think I could hear it from the back seat): That would be more convenient.

Jace: You know what would be really convenient? A portal we could carry around with us that the other side was over the toilet. We’d never have to get up to go poop again!

Me: Really, a poop portal?

Jace: Yeah! Or…oooh…this is better. The other portal could just be at the septic and then we wouldn’t even have to stick our arms in the portal to flush the toilet.

Gracie: Ew!

Tyler: I think it would be cool if we followed this car all the way to the Y – not like we’re actually stalkers, but maybe they’d think we are and speed up!

Me: Well, that’s one option…

Jace (at a traffic circle where a car got between us for 1/3 of the go-round): Hurry up! You’re going to lose them! Or not. You know, you could drift your way out of these round-abouts. I know how to drift in Forza (a video game, I think). You just pull up on the e-brake. I can drift my RC car too.

Me: In all my years of driving, I’ve never had reason to drift my vehicle.

Gracie: You’ve been driving for 21 years!

Me: Wow! Really? Yeah, I guess that’s right. Wow!

Jace: That means that people who were born when you started driving are now old enough to legally drink and drive.

Me (literally put my hand in my head – good thing I was at a red light): Um…I hope not.

Jace: Ok, old enough to drink legally and have a designated driver.

Tyler: Don’t worry, Mama. You’re not old until you’re 60.

Me: 60?

Gracie: I think 70 is old, not 60.

Jace: No, 50 is old!

Me: Let’s go with 70.

Tyler: Most people don’t make it to old, so I think 70 sounds good.

Jace: Maybe in the home you’ll live past old, Mama.

Me: Uh…thanks?

Tyler: Yeah, I hope you live way older than old.

Me: Awesome. Me too.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Kids Quips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Car Conversation, Two

  1. Pingback: Car Conversation, Three | Sips of Stillness

  2. Pingback: Car Conversation, Four | Sips of Stillness

Leave a Reply

