Dear Friend Who Feels Unworthy

Dear Friend Who Feels Unworthy,

“I don’t feel worthy of the love poured on me.”  That’s what you said.  That’s when I cried.

You are worthy because you’re a human being. You’re worthy because you’re an inspiration. You’re worthy because you’re a mother, a friend, a mentor. You’re a benchmark I measure myself against. You’re a shoulder I lean on. You’re worthy because I said so…and I know.

No you’re not perfect, but I looked it up, in several dictionaries, and none of them said you needed to be perfection personified to be worthy. They did say things like ‘good enough’ and ‘deserving.’ And those are adjectives that clearly describe you, not only in my eyes, but in the eyes of all those pouring love onto you!

You don’t need to lose weight. You don’t need to do more. You just need to be. Who you are is enough.

But, you know what? I don’t have to convince you because it really doesn’t matter what you feel. Your beliefs regarding this subject don’t change the facts. And you are worthy. Fact. You are loved. Fact.

But, you know what else? I want to convince you because I want you to settle into the love being poured on you. I want you to grab the hands that reach out to you when you’re in need. Because that’s what friends do. We love, we help. We share laughs and tears and pain and joy. So, try to see that you are worthy, please. Until you can, though, those of us who can see it will believe it for you.

Because that’s what friends are for too.

Love,

Annie

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Letters From Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Friend Who Feels Unworthy

  1. Pingback: Dear Friend Who Feels Unworthy | How to Love

  2. Pingback: My Responses to Your Responses | Sips of Stillness

  3. Pingback: Dear Cosmo Reader | Sips of Stillness

  4. Pingback: Seasons Change | Sips of Stillness

Leave a Reply

