I Am Awesome

This might not seem like something you want to read, but I encourage you to stick with me and challenge yourself.  Because you’re awesome too.  (If you’ve seen The Lego Movie, you might be inclined to sing…”Everything is awesome!”  I encourage that too.)

So, yes, this post is about me – but it’s also about you.  And how amazing and awesome and smart and beautiful and talented we are.  I’m not perfect, mind you, but who is?  I am worthy of love, joy, smiles, moments of peace, and kindness.  And who isn’t?  Especially from ourselves.  So often we get down on ourselves and talk meanly in our heads and beat our spirits up all on our own.  And shouldn’t we, at least, be on our own side?  I think so.  I also know, though, that it’s not easy to compliment yourself in an honest way – without sarcasm, qualifications, or being cocky.  With practice, though, it can be accomplished.

A few years ago I came across Smrt Lernins‘ post about recognizing our own amazing qualities.  Feel free to read her whole post, but here’s what the task at hand boils down to:

1. Make a list of five amazing, beautiful physical qualities about yourself. Don’t couch them in an insult (“I look good for my age” or “I have nice legs for an overweight person“). You have at least five beautiful things about you, I guarantee. If you can’t see them immediately, this is your opportunity to search for them. Find those five amazing things about your appearance and list them.

2. Make a list of five amazing things about your mind. Don’t couch them in an insult (“I’m smart for someone who never finished college“). You have at least five incredible things going on up your head. If you can’t think of them immediately, this is your chance to discover them. Find those five amazing things about your mind and list them.

3. Make a list of five amazing things you have accomplished. Don’t couch them in an insult (“I’ve accomplished a lot for someone with children“). You have accomplished at least five spectacular things in your life. If they don’t spring immediately to mind, take this time to remember them. Find those five amazing accomplishments and list them.

I was on a mission at the time to feel better about me and gave it a try.  I wasn’t able to finish it.  That first time, four and a half years ago, I couldn’t come up with 15 amazing things about me.  It made me sad, but also determined.  I felt good enough about me to start the list, but there was room for more growth.  That wasn’t all that surprising and in the end, I felt good that I was striving to love me even more.

Good news – a year or so later, I wrote a new list and was able to come up with 15 positive points about me.  Every so often, this activity comes to mind again and I give the list another shot.  The most fascinating thing for me is how these things change from time to time.  Some days I struggle to come up with five accomplishments, but other days I’ve had to narrow down my list to just five!  That’s life, right?  Ups and downs, highs and lows, and all of it amazing.

And that’s me.  Awesome.

So, what about you?  What about your husband, your mother, your kids?  I think everyone could benefit from this.  It can be something you do in private in a journal or share it with a friend.  Maybe you and your significant other could complete lists about each other and see where you overlap and what surprises you.  Or you could compile yearly lists for your children for them to treasure later on.  This could be a classroom activity or adapted for work.  The options are endless!

So, take a few minutes and write you list about awesome, amazing you!  You might find it harder than you’d like or easier than you thought.  But you won’t know unless you write down five incredible physical qualities, five impressive mental qualities, and five accomplishments that you’re proud of.  So get to it!

If you’re interested, here’s my most recent list:

Five amazing, beautiful physical qualities:

  1. My shoulders
  2. My smile
  3. My thighs
  4. My hands
  5. My hips

Five amazing things about my mind:

  1. I’m caring.
  2. I’m thankful.
  3. I’m learning to set boundaries.
  4. My faith.
  5. I’m positive.

Five amazing accomplishments:

  1. I’ve gotten paid for my writing.
  2. I’ve taken on a mentoring role in an arena I’m highly passionate about.
  3. I’m in my 6th year of homeschooling.
  4. I incorporate travel and field learning into our lives.
  5. I have a strong marriage.

There ya go…the things I feel good about today.  Even if you don’t share your list, feel free to share your experience with this.  And even if your list is incomplete, remember that you’re not alone in that.  Mine wasn’t the first time either.  Start when and where you’re at.  I hope your trip inside yourself is enlightening and helps you grow in love for you.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Deep Breaths and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am Awesome

  1. Pingback: Dear Cosmo Reader | Sips of Stillness

Leave a Reply

