Just Write It.

A dozen or so years ago I remember saying to a friend, “Everyone wants to write their memoirs, right?” And she answered, “Um…no.”

In my mind, that was the first time I realized that maybe this writing thing was something I should look at more. Maybe it was a talent or skill (I feel like it’s more than a skill, but saying I’m talented still sounds more confident than I feel) that can help me help others. Maybe it deserved attention and honing.

A few years later, after my mom told me that my writing reminded her of Erma Bombeck, I took a course to improve my article writing and to try to get into print. My goal was to get published in magazines. It took several years, but now I have. And I think that’s just the beginning!  I’ve enjoyed writing for HaveHeart Magazine and seeing my work in Home&Harvest Magazine.  Their editor-in-chief, Heather Niccoli, truly believed in me and encouraged me while I continued to find my voice.  I’ve also sold two articles to Practical Homeschooling Magazine. Slowly and steadily I’m making progress and learning about where my place in the writing world may be.

Recently I’ve been wondering if I could write for others, maybe make some more money.  As I’ve explored these questions over the last month, I’ve had three different people, for three different reasons, ask if I was going to write a book. I answered each of them with a polite laugh and, “I’d like to, but…”

Today the ensuing conversation boiled down to, “But, what? Just write it.”

I still don’t know how I’ll publish a book. (What?  Me…a real, live author? Just the thought makes me giddy, giddy, giddy!) I still don’t know if anyone will read it. (Except maybe those three people and my mom.) And I still don’t know if it’s the path I’m meant to tread. (That’s why I’m tip-toeing into these waters rather than jumping in with a “CANNON BALLLL!”) Those are all my buts. They still exist. But, (Ha ha, I said it again!) they don’t need to stop me from writing.

That first conversation was about writing my memoirs, and that may still happen. In the meantime, though, I have two other book ideas in my brain waiting to make it to paper. Now the biggest question is…which do I write first?

Stay tuned. Who knows? Maybe you’ll be someone who wants to read what I’ve got to say. Just maybe.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Deep Breaths and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Write It.

  1. Janet S. says:

    My best friend published his first book late last year after years of tinkering with it. You can do it. (If your kids want to read it, it’s called Arkrames and it’s focused for 11-17 year olds. Author SC Billingslea)

    Like

Leave a Reply

