Cheerleader

About a decade ago a friend of mine (you know who you are) found it entertaining that I seemed to have a song that fit every conversation or situation out there.  Once she pointed it out, over and over, I got a good chuckle out of it too.  I’ve embraced the concept now and really do believe there’s a song for everything.  I even made the idea a category of its own here on my blog!  Yay!!!

I debated what song would be my first to write about, but couldn’t decide and couldn’t decide…until today.  I was driving and heard one of my favorite pop tunes out there right now.  Omi’s Cheerleader.  As I sung along it occurred to me that I’d been thinking much too hard about the perfect first song to write about.  There’s a song for every occasion, and Cheerleader is one of them!

What do I love about this song?  First and foremost – the trumpets!  I’ve always been a big fan of brass instruments and big band sounds.  In this tune they celebrate the idea of having someone by your side and that person being enough.  Heck yes that deserves a burst of trumpets!

If you know my husband, the idea of him as a cheerleader might make you snort your beverage out your nose and all over your screen – sorry.  But he is, in his own way, for me, at least.  And, although I look nothing like the dancer cheering for Omi in the video, it’s all good.  I don’t need to.  I know two or three little chants and I’m always in his corner (yeah, yeah).

I think that’s the crux of the song and of a strong relationship.  We support, lift up, want the best for, and encourage each other.  It’s an incredible feeling to have that safe place to fall into when I need it.  It’s also an outstanding feeling to be the strong one when he needs me to be.  That truth in our marriage is what allows each of us the confidence to grow and be the most we can be.  It also means advances from others will be met with a nice, “pssht” sound because, no…we’re not really interested.  We’ve got out cheerleaders.

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Song for That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

