Beyond the Books

My teachers taught me a lot that wasn’t in the books. And I’m pretty sure I remember the non-curriculum lessons more than what was on my tests.

Not everything I learned was great. In fifth grade I learned that I was fat and needed to change. I’d gotten this idea from others before, but never from a teacher. That lesson took a long time to unlearn. In seventh grade, while still struggling with my take home from fifth grade, I learned that a little cleavage can go a long way, even when you’re chubby. (For the record, that teacher never touched any students or tried anything. He was, however, the kind of pervert who sat the girls in the front row. Not saying it was right, just saying that as a seventh grader, I used it to my advantage.)

Thankfully, there are many more examples of true wisdom that I left school with. Here’s a list of what came to mind today…

  • Cheer for your team, not against the other.
  • Win and lose graciously.
  • Learn something from everyone you meet – either a way you’d like to be or characteristics you’d never want associated with your personality.
  • Every time you meet new people, it’s an opportunity to present yourself how you’d like to be perceived all over again.
  • Sometimes cheaters win in the short term, but honesty will serve you better in the long run.
  • Practice doesn’t make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect.
  • Sometimes a healthy grunt or good primal yell will give you the strength you need to get the ball into the goal.
  • You can take the paper off the crayons and color with the sides.
  • Music can inspire, music can heal, music can make you laugh. (Anyone remember the Pop Bottle Hoedown?)

I’m sure the knowledge passed on doesn’t end there. But if you know me at all, it’s pretty clear that I took what my teachers were teaching to heart. And if you don’t know me, read that list again…it’s a decent outline of who I am. I’m sure I learned a little from inside the books, too, but who I am at my core came from the people who guided me more than the subject they were teaching. Thanks, teachers!

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

