Dear Unicorn

Dear Unicorn,

I’ve yet to meet you, but I look forward to the day.

You see, I once told my husband what my ideal job would be.

  • three to four hours a day
  • a little interaction with adults
  • the chance to use my brain in a different way than homeschooling allows, but not at a Master’s degree level all the time – that’s exhausting
  • enough pay to allow for massages and pedicures to make the monthly budget
  • nothing too stressful so that I can still be the wife, mother, and teacher I try to be

You know…that job.

He listened patiently and then responded, “So, you want to be a unicorn groomer.”  After he explained that what I was hoping and looking for was also something that doesn’t exist, I was defiant for a bit!  Unicorns do exist and so does my dream job.  But I’m still looking for you both.

Now my daughter assures me that she’ll have unicorns at her mansion someday.  And she’s promised to hire me to groom them.  So that’s good.  I have a retirement plan.  But, perhaps, you could prance this way a bit before that and give me something to retire from.  Huh?  What do you say?

I’m sure you want to know my qualifications – so I’ll tell you that I’m good with a brush. Just two nights ago I spent four hours carefully brushing knots out of Gracie’s hair after she spent all day in and out of the pool.  Petting is among my favorite things – too.  Just ask Jace, I pet him sometimes.  And Tyler will tell you that I’m good at cuddling so I’d be happy to wrap my arms you for big hugs – especially if you know any pegasuses or pegasi (There’s some debate about the plural of that word and some that say there’s no need for a plural, but I think there could definitely be more than one Pegasus about.) that could take me on a ride over the rainbow.  And I always have carrots and apples around, so you can have some yummy treats.

See, we could have a wonderful, joyful working relationship.  Honestly, we’d probably be more like friends.  So, if you’d like to come meet me, I’d be happy to be your groomer.

Sincerely,

Annie

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Letters From Me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

