Tucking Tags

I have a habit. Some may call it odd or overreaching, but I think of it as a kindness. When I see a tag sticking out of someone’s shirt, I tell them. Most of the time it’s as delightfully simple as that.

I say, “Hi, you don’t know me, but I noticed your tag is sticking up and I just wanted to let you know,” an give my best friendly, not creepy, smile.

They say, “Oh, thank you. I had no idea…thanks.” Their response often includes an embarrassed, shy smile back.

Smooth and easy interaction. Women at the bank, the grocery store, or the county fair – thankful that their tags are no longer sticking up. And, so far, no one has ever responded negatively. So I’ll keep going for it!

If you’d like to adopt my habit as your own, there are a few variations on the theme you might want to consider – advanced tag tucking, if you will.

If I see a care tag popping up and don’t know that person but do know the person they’re talking to, I’ll usually tuck it myself. That goes something like this, “Don’t let me interrupt your conversation, I just wanted to tuck your tag…there.” Add a quick, cheerful smile and done. I have yet to get slapped and we usually share a little laugh before I either get introduced or move away to truly let them chat.

Other times, a little more delicacy is called for due to the intimacy of the situation. Think beyond clothing tags to things like skirts tucked in panties!

Several years ago (Yes, I’ve been at this for years.), I was having lunch at the mall and a mother and daughter were sitting a few tables away from me. They were both put together nicely and looked rather classy, aside from the thong sticking out from the top of the daughter’s pants. I deliberated this intervention for some time. Plenty of women intentionally show bras under sheer shirts or with tank tops. Who was I to say that this wasn’t her fashion sense? But after a back and forth internal debate, I went for it.

In my least threatening whisper, I shared with them my concerns. “Excuse me. This is a little awkward, but I just thought you should know that your shirt has pulled up a little in the back and your underwear is peaking out. It didn’t seem to go with the rest of your outfit, so I wanted to say something. But if you intended it to show, just ignore me and be confident.” I included what I hoped was a small sheepish, yet pleasant smile and backed away from their table. Before I even stopped talking, though, she was pulling her shirt down and looking around to see who else might have seen. So, a big sigh there – right decision made.

And in case you’re concerned about my tags…don’t fret. My daughter diligently slips mine into place if it needs it!

About Annie

I am an occasionally confident, mostly comfortable woman. That hasn't always been the case, but, I have to say, it feels good to be at this place in my life now! As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, and friend I hope to inspire, educate, and grow with all my readers through this blog. I embrace life and strive to find a refreshing glass of lemonade no matter how many lemons life tosses my way. I'm glad you're joining me on this journey. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Just Because and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

